Sweet & Salty, and Salt & Vinegar Flavored Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Image

My alien pumpkin!

Halloween is probably my favorite holiday of the year. I love to dress up and carve pumpkins and of course all the candy that goes along with this fabulous day. I’m very sad that it’s all over for another year but one thing that can be celebrated post halloween is all the leftover pumpkin seeds! I stole this idea from my cousin. He made sweet cayenne pepper seeds and honey roasted seeds. I’ve had a few bad experiences adding cayenne pepper to recipes (I always add too much) so I opted for sweet & salty and salt & vinegar instead!

Image

Pumpkin seeds to go! In my homemade reusable snack bags!

Roasted pumpkin seeds are so quick and easy to make but they’re also a yummy healthy snack, great for on the go too. I packed some of these into a reusable snack bag for a mid morning treat.

Once you’ve got all the seeds separated and rinsed lay them out on a baking tray. Sprinkle some salt and oil over top and throw them in the oven. I baked mine at 350 for 10 mins then lowered the heat to 275 for another 15 and they turned out perfect! Seeing how flavoring them was an afterthought I added my seasonings after they were baked and threw them back in the oven for another 10 mins. I think this is the best way to do them though cause you don’t want the honey getting burnt.

Image

Mmmm yummy roasted pumpkin seeds!

Image

My Heloi rice bran oil. I like to buy organic oils so I know they are GMO free. Plus they just taste better than plain old canola oil.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds:

  • 3 cups rinsed pumpkin seeds
  • 2 Tbs your favorite oil ( I used organic rice bran oil)
  • A generous pinch of sea salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350   
  2. Spread seeds onto large baking sheet
  3. Sprinkle with oil and salt
  4. Cook for 10 mins, reduce heat to 275 and cook for an additional 10-15mins

Once you’ve got your Roasted Pumpkin seeds cooked you can add all kinds of fun seasonings. I divided mine into 3 different flavors: Original, Sweet & Salty, and Salt & Vinegar.

Sweet & Salty:

  • 1 cup roasted pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • pinch sea salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Melt 1/4 cup honey and drizzle over roasted pumpkin seeds on a baking pan. Add a little more salt if desired. 
  3. Cook for 10 mins or until honey starts bubbling. Cool for 10 mins and serve.

Salt & Vinegar:

  • 1 cup roasted pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar (or any vinegar of your choice) 
  • pinch sea salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Drizzle vinegar over roasted seeds on a baking pan. Add additional salt if desired. 
  3. Cook for 10 mins or until vinegar is evaporated. 

I just separated my seeds into 3 sections on my original baking sheet and added the flavourings. The Sweet & Salty are my favorite so far and I’m considering turning the rest of my original ones into more Sweet & Salty!

Image

Sweet & Salty on the left, Original, and Salt & Vinegar on the right.

Enjoy!   

Leave a Reply

