Vegetarian & bison fajitas, snowstorms, and my fantasy of a reusable container only world.

Fajitas with all the fixin’s!

It’s winter!!

Outside our kitchen window! First big snowfall of the year =)

It seems like the snow is here to stay for good. I thought, with the warm spell the past couple days, all the snow might melt away and we’d have a late winter this year. Alas, waking up to blizzard like conditions this morning proved me wrong. Fortunately, I love snow days. I love looking outside to see everything covered in white fluffy snow, or peeking out the window and not being able to see through the wall of white on the other side. I love opening the door to a foot (sometimes two) of snow and that giddy feeling of being snowed in. I personally think that the world should slow down on these days, and on the very bad days, everything should be closed. I think work should be cancelled on snow days as well as classes! It would be nice if we could all take this time to stay home and do nothing with our families. No running to the store, no doing errands and no working.

Wouldn’t that be awesome, getting up and sitting by the radio in the morning in anticipation of your work being cancelled for the day. Listening while they call out local businesses and waiting/hoping yours will be on the list. That used to be the most amazing feeling as a child. Sitting in your pajamas, fingers crossed, in front of the radio for your county to be called. Then an unbelievable rush of excitement and freedom! The whole day to go play outside in the snow! Snow forts, snowmen, snowball fights, snow days were the best! It’d be nice to get that feeling back every once in a while. It would also mean a lot less drivers out on terrible roads, panicking that they won’t make it to work on time and a lot less fatal crashes because of it..

My cute Teaopia ceramic travel mug, it has a removable metal screen for loose teas which I love!

There is an upside to leaving the house on a snow day.. Peppermint Mochas! I love the mix of creamy chocolate, delicious sinus clearing peppermint and caffeine! I also think it’s super important that when getting a coffee shop drink you bring your own mug. Honestly if I opened a coffee shop we would only serve people with travel mugs. Well maybe you could have a punch card and every 10 drinks you were allowed one cup for those times when you forgot, broke, or lost your mug. Or if rewarding good behaviour didn’t work what if we punished/publicly chastised people.. oh you were too lazy to bring your mug today.. Well that’ll be an extra $3 for your coffee and then a loud speaker would announce how many strikes you had against you (for repeat offenders). Imagine if the whole world did this. If we made it a hassle for people to pollute the earth. Or we made it expensive. Imagine if everywhere you went you needed to bring your own containers, or you rent the container and bring it back. No more millions of plastic bags/containers in the landfill, or worse, the ocean.. I recently heard of a gas station where you can fill up your windshield wiper fluid at the gas pump. How awesome is that? That would eliminate thousands and thousands of those plastic jugs just by doing something so simple as having a pump for that fluid as well.

Okay so I kind of got off topic for a little bit.. Watching all the people who frequently stop at coffee shops and who know they will be stopping but do not bring their own mug makes me a little insane. I try to stick to my rule of if I didn’t bring a travel mug I don’t get a delicious coffee. I’d say this self inflicted guilt trick works 99% of the time, and ensures that I always try to bring a travel mug and refillable water bottle everywhere I go. No need to mention that I have a huge bag for stashing all my necessities.

In lieu of the cold weather I decided to warm things up with a spicy meal! Homemade fajitas! Complete with handmade tortillas, locally made salsa/hot sauce and seasoned bison steak strips for my boyfriend.

I always think that everything in the kitchen takes about 5 minutes when in reality it’s usually more like 10 or 15.. Therefore sometimes I do not start prepping things for dinner until way too late (thinking it’ll only take me 5 mins to make these tortillas, 5 mins to chop all the fillings, 5 mins to cook it, and 2 mins to make guacamole..). This was one of these nights. Which also meant I was scrambling to cook tortillas, chop up veggies and prep toppings all at the same time. Disaster. I overcooked most of my tortillas, making them very brittle. Nuking them right before eating seemed to help a little.

All in all the meal turned out great! Spicy, savory, fresh, these fajitas had it all. It was also extremely filling. We both only ate one each. We still had leftovers for lunch the next day and the birds got some tortillas too. I’m sure they were glad for the non snow-covered meal.

Blue Kettle Tomato Salsa and Get Sauced Screamin’ Pequin Hot Sauce – Both made locally with real ingredients! No crazy chemicals here.

Close up of all the fajita fillings!

Healthy Homemade Tortillas:

Makes 12

by kgsoutherncomfort on September 8, 2009 in Breads, Homemade Ingredients, Quick BreadsSee this recipe post on kgsoutherncomfort’s site!

  • 3 cups Organic, Unbleached Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Powder
  • ⅓ cups Canola Oil (or your favorite organic oil)
  • 1 cup Hot Water
  1. Mix the flour, salt, and baking powder with a whisk. Add the canola oil and mix with your fingers until all the oil is incorporated and the mixture looks like fine crumbs. Add 1 cup of hot water and mix until a ball is formed. Cover with plastic wrap and let the dough rest for about 30 minutes. (I have also refrigerated it overnight).
  2. Divide the dough into 12 balls and roll out one at a time on a floured surface. Brush off excess flour. Cook on a hot, ungreased griddle over medium-high heat. Turn the tortilla when brown blisters form on the first side. Stack the totillas and serve warm.

Next for the fajitas we’ll need some spicy fillings! I used red/yellow bell peppers, onion, and bison steak. I cooked mine separately, so I wouldn’t have to pick out the bison but I’ll post the recipe for making it together.

Fajita Seasoned Bison and Veggies:

  • 1 lg onion
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 Tb oil
  • ½ lb bison steak, sliced
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper
  • Salt and pepper
  1. Sauté garlic and onion in oil until garlic browns (2-3 mins).
  2. Add bison and brown on all sides. Add peppers and spices.
  3. Cook until veggies are soft and bison is med-well done (or however you prefer).

Fajita toppings! Time to grate the cheese, chop the lettuce and cilantro, spoon out some salsa and sour cream, open a can of organic refried beans, and whip up some guac! Did I mention that I started my meal way too late and by the end my stomach growling took precedence over fresh guacamole, also my avocado was not quite ripe enough when I sliced into it. =( Tragedy.. For those of you who want to go all the way with this recipe and who started cooking their supper at a reasonable time I love to make fresh guacamole so I’m including a super quick recipe I like to use!

Quick Guacamole:

  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • ½ cup tomato salsa
  • 1-2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  1. Mix everything in a bowl, mash, serve! Super quick and easy!

*Recipe adapted from quick guacamole on http://www.eatingwell.com

Leave a Reply

