Reflecting on 2012 and the start of 2013.

Well a new year has officially begun. I can’t say it’s off to the best start.. I ended up drinking a little too much champagne last night and didn’t manage to get out of bed until close to noon. To combat this rough start I whipped up the meanest green monster smoothie I could think of, full of kale, spinach, celery, apple, strawberries, chia seeds, and some ground flax to top it off. I slowly drank my enormous smoothie while munching on leftover hummus and pita chips while deciding what to blog about and reading a book on dinosaurs (how to bring them back specifically).

I’m not one for making New Years Resolutions but I do like to have a mental list of things to improve or work on for the next year. I think that’s a better method for me, to resolve to start making little changes or begin the process of change instead of setting unrealistic goals and being disappointed with myself when I fail. For instance, last year I didn’t set any concrete goals but I knew I wanted to lead a more eco-friendly life and starting making as many little changes as possible. Looking back it’s weird to think how different my life was. Grocery shopping used to revolve around finding the cheapest possible food items, only buying whatever brand was the least expensive or on sale and not really thinking about too much else. I think that mindset comes from being brought up in a household where thriftiness and buying the cheapest items was a necessity. I do think being wise with money and thrifty is important but now I know that it is also important not to sacrifice quality for lower cost.

Whenever I was bored I’d go to the mall and go shopping, buying clothes, makeup and things I thought I needed, spending all my money on material things. That’s why starting the new year last year I was determined to stop this wasteful habit. I might have went a little overboard with my vow not to buy anything new.. which caused a lot of stress and ended up with me mending and re-mending holes in my jeans since I couldn’t find a pair I liked at a thrift store. Now, I’ve realized I shouldn’t be so hard on myself. It’s okay to buy new things as long as I really need them. And getting a brand new quality set of kitchen cookware is much better than picking up odds and ends at secondhand stores as long as we’re not spending above our means and we’re buying quality items that will last a long long time.

So for this year one thing I want to start changing is my diet, I’m happy to be vegetarian but I tend to replace meat with bread and cheese. I’d like to become a little more adventurous with my meals, cut out cheese as a staple, eat more legumes, beans, and start incorporating more healthy proteins. I’d also like to be more committed to daily yoga sessions. I go through phases of doing yoga every day, then not doing it for a month, even though I always feel so much better and relaxed after.

As for eco-friendly changes, I plan on starting a compost bin this spring and planting my garden again this year. Hopefully harvest time this year will be better as we finally got a deep freeze so I can store all my frozen veggies, sauces, lasagnas, etc. We love all our organic, non-processed, homemade food, so that won’t be changing. I’d like to start biking to work as soon as it’s warm enough (I finally work somewhere close enough to be able to). My mom is getting me a serger as a late christmas present so hopefully I’ll be able to start making more of my own clothes. I’m sure I’ll think of many more little things we can do or change throughout this year and I’m excited to be moving closer and closer to our dream of living a more sustainable lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

