There’s veggies in my chocolate!

Snapshot 2013-02-24 12-10-13

Obviously I’m human therefore I love chocolate. Okay maybe being a Homo sapien does not necessarily predispose one to love chocolate but I have yet to meet someone who detests it! With all the chocolate recipes floating around the internet due to Valentines day I developed some strong chocolate cravings. While torturing myself reading about amazing cocoa concoctions I stumbled upon a recipe on the civilized caveman. He has created a brownies recipe that is not only sugar free but also grain free! What’s the secret ingredient? Sweet potatoes. I was intrigued. I love weird food combinations so I couldn’t wait to try this recipe out! I’m not going to post my version of the recipe because I followed it almost exactly, the only substitutions I made were replacing the butter with earth balance to make it diary-free and I couldn’t find coconut flour so I used rice flour instead. Also I just melted the chocolate chips and poured them on top for an icing of sorts. I cannot believe how amazing these turned out.. They are the most moist, chocolate-y, melt in your mouth brownies I’ve ever had. I don’t think I’ll ever think of brownies the same way after having these.

Here’s the link for the Sweet Potato Ginger Brownies! Although they are called ginger brownies, to be honest I couldn’t detect the ginger in them. Which was not a bad thing but maybe to spice them up you could try using fresh ginger instead. Enjoy!

To keep up the veggies in my chocolate theme I have another recipe I adore. Each week with our organic box of vegetables we also get a newsletter (electronically now, to save paper) highlighting one of the veggies or fruits in our box. Usually they do a little write up on the farm they source that veggie/fruit from and most times include a recipe centered around it. This is how I discovered beet cake. The first time I made this unusual dessert Shadoe peered into the kitchen of our tiny apartment and probably thought I was ruining a perfectly good chocolate cake. Beets and chocolate.. I don’t necessarily like beets either so I was also skeptical. Alas the organic box had given us beets and I really had no idea what else to make with them so beet cake it was! Surprisingly this cake was a hit on the first attempt! I brought some to work and my coworkers all agreed that it was some tasty cake. The rest, Shadoe gobbled up, not sharing with his co-workers I’m sure. Since then I’ve made beet cake many times. Shadoe will actually get excited when he sees beets in the fridge now, happy that I’ll be making his favorite beet cake. I’m happy too since this simple recipe calls for way less sugar than a normal chocolate cake, which I’ll normally substitute with honey. Also it calls for whole wheat flour and is a source of veggies! I make it so often now that I even canned pureed beets from my garden specifically to make beet cake through the winter. Instead of your traditional cake this time I decided to try something fun and made chocolate coated cake balls! Chocolate cake dipped in chocolate, what could be better..

2013-02-11 15.32.26

Chocolate Beet Cake

  • 1-2 med-large sized beets
  • unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 2/3 cup sugar (or honey) I usually use less and it still turns out yummy!
  • 1 Tbs cornstarch
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 chocolate chips
  1. Peel and dice beets and boil in saucepan until tender. Or if you have more time on your hands and can plan ahead, just wrap the beets as they are in foil and bake in the oven at 375 until tender. Let cool then wash off the skins under cold water, they should come right off. Once you have your cooked beets, puree them in the blender.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 and prepare baking pan.
  3. Pour the pureed beets into a 2-cup measure and fill to 2 cup line by adding applesauce. In a medium mixing bowl add an extra 2 Tbs applesauce, the beet mixture, vanilla, and apple cider vinegar.
  4. Mix the dry ingredients together and add to the beet mixture. Stir until well combined and pour batter into prepared pan. Top with chocolate chips. Bake for 35-50 mins depending on the size of pan you use. Test by inserting a toothpick into the center. It’s done when the toothpick comes out clean.
One response to “There’s veggies in my chocolate!

Leave a Reply

