5 of my favorite quick and easy vegetarian meals.

It’s been a hectic couple weeks for me. Minutes before my boyfriend planned to leave for a 5 day snowboarding trip I was in a car accident and my car towed away, right from in front of my house. Luckily no one was hurt but the next week and a half were definitely stressful for me. I had declined the rental package on my insurance so I was left without a vehicle until the insurance money came through. Living out in the country a car is pretty much a necessity to get anything done. I had a few days off work and still got to go on a snowboard trip that weekend, as my friend was able to drive us to Banff. To get to work and back I had to take cabs, catch a ride with someone who lived nearby, or get my boyfriend to drive me for the rest of the week. I arranged to go look at a replacement car on my one day off that weekend but the car was located 3 hours away. I ended up purchasing it even though it had some noticeable issues mostly because we had drove all that way and I got such a good deal. I also have been busy volunteering with the Alberta Organic Producers Association. We had a meeting last weekend so I went there from 10am-4pm and then straight to work for 4pm-2am. Thankfully Shadoe was okay with chauffeuring me back and forth. On top of working nights this week and my mom coming for a visit I also had to find time to take my new car into the shop, and write an article for the newspaper. It’s been crazy!

Things are finally starting to get back to normal. I had to decline overtime work today in order to get caught up on my personal life but I managed to accomplish everything I needed to do. It’s weeks like this that having to go quick and easy veggie meals is a must. While my mom was here I devoted a little more time to the kitchen and made us bean and rice enchiladas with Mexican rice and spicy jalapeno Cornbread on the side, it was a feast compared to most of my meals lately. I forgot to take any photos but since it was such a hit with everyone even my bean-hating boyfriend (who I’m slowly converting to the dark side). I’m sure I’ll be making it again soon and I’ll post the recipe next time!

To be honest my go to meals when in a rush or not feeling like putting in too much effort are usually some kind of pasta. I try to make them healthy by loading up the veggies so it’s more half veggie half pasta. I also cook a lot with Mr. Noodle instant noodles, normally I make a stir fry and use the noodles as the base but recently a friend of mine said she makes the noodles and broth then adds in all kinds of veggies, an egg, soy sauce and chilis. I tried her concoction and am now hooked! It’s like a spicy, salty, Asian inspired dish that is literally ready in minutes. When I’m really not feeling the noodles I go for more burger or sandwich style meals. I usually have a stash of whole wheat pitas in my freezer at all times and have found many uses for them, from pita chips for hummus, to falafels and mini pizzas.

1. Vegetarian Tikka Masala Pasta – I’m pretty sure I’ve invented this concoction. One day after cooking some pasta and not really being sure what kind of sauce I felt like having on it I noticed a half empty jar of Tikka Masala sauce in my fridge. I threw some onions, carrots, and red pepper in the food processor, sautéed them slightly in a frying pan, added a couple handful of spinach and mixed in the sauce and pasta. The first couple bites were confusing. I wasn’t sure if the sauce went with the whole grain pasta but the more I ate the more I liked it and it has now become a staple!

2013-02-11 14.28.29

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked whole grain pasta
  • ½ cup Tikka Masala sauce
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 red pepper
  • ½ red onion
  • 1 tsp oil for cooking
  • Couple handfuls of spinach
  1. Grate all vegetables in a food processor or to save dishes you can chop them up julienne style.
  2. Sautee in frying pan for 1-2 mins or until tender. Mix in Tikka Masala sauce and cooked pasta, stir and serve!

2) Creamy Avocado & Basil Pasta – I stumbled across this recipe on Pinterest and probably make it at least 2-3 times a month.. Warning it’s highly addictive. I would say it’s like a vegan combo of classic Alfredo sauce and pesto. It uses the creaminess of avocado in place of heavy cream, lemon and basil to add flavor and is a delicious plant based meal.

I’m directing you straight to the source on OhSheGlows.com. Also where this photo comes from.

15 minute creamy avocado pasta

3) Spicy Mr. Noodle Soup – Like I said above, this one is super quick and soo simple. I prep my veggies while the water is heating up on the stove and then throw it all together. I love to make this noodle soup whenever I’m feeling a little under the weather or on a snowy cold day.

2013-02-21 14.11.20

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Mr. Noodle instant noodles.
  • ¼ a red pepper, chopped
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1-3 tsp chili garlic sauce to taste
  • ground pepper
  1. Cook noodles as per package, just before they are completely done cooking add in red pepper, spinach and soy sauce.
  2. Reduce heat to low. Stir a few times until spinach is wilted and then add in the egg. You wont want to stir it much once the egg is in there but I like to take spoonfuls of the broth and pour it on top of the egg to speed things up.
  3. Once the egg is mostly cooked pour into a bowl, top with chili garlic sauce  and enjoy!

4) Margarita Pita Pizzas – I have a weird obsession with Margarita pizzas. Ever since having an authentic one from Famoso I crave the simplicity of the tomato/basil/mozza flavors all the time. I order the exact same thing every time we go so it’s not a surprise that I tried to make my own version at home. Obviously it doesn’t come close to the real thing but for a quick and easy meal it’s very satisfying.

Photo courtesy of yummly.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole wheat pita
  • ½ tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 fresh tomato
  • 1 tsp tomato paste
  • few basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup mozzarella cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 450 C.
  2. Puree fresh tomato and tomato paste in mini blender or magic bullet.
  3. Place pita on a baking pan. Spread olive oil evenly over pita with a pastry brush.
  4. Add the tomato sauce, then top with fresh basil leaves and mozzarella.
  5. Cook in the oven for about 5 mins, be sure to watch it, it will cook fast! As soon as the cheese is melted remove from oven and let cool.

5) Falafel Pitas – I don’t think anyone really needs instructions on this one.. All I ever do is grab a box of falafel mix, cook according to instructions and stuff it in a pita with my favorite toppings and spread. Personally I like tzatziki, lettuce, tomato, and cucumber slices!

Photo courtesy of stonefire.com

Hope these give you some ideas for quick veggie filled meals. Let me know what your favorite go-to veggie dishes are!

Also, my cats, because it’s my blog and I’ll post cat photos if I want to lol.

Nuri had a photo shoot out in the snow a few weeks back. She was thrilled.. Obviously.

Nuri had a photo shoot out in the snow a few weeks back. She was thrilled.. Obviously.

2013-03-04 14.54.05

Hunting some birds.

Hunting some birds.

2013-03-13 09.09.26

Both cats hanging out on the cat tree. Butterscotch came to visit with my mom last week.

8 responses to “5 of my favorite quick and easy vegetarian meals.

  1. mmm..going to try the tiki masala pasta

  2. Woah, that’s quite a week you had! Glad things are getting back to normal a bit. Great sounding recipes, and beautiful kitties!!!!

  3. haha yes! So nice to have wheels again 🙂 Thank you

  4. Bernardette Decelis

    these recipes look great, will try definitely

  5. These recipes look really appetising! and I love those cats!! ❤

    • Hahaha thank you! If I didn’t run the risk of looking like a crazy cat lady I’d probably put cat pictures every post. So I at least try to mix it up with chickens and our hedgehog 🙂

Leave a Reply

