Easter eats and adventuring!

 

Image

For easter this year I wanted to have a nice sunday brunch full of veggie goods. I decided on:

 

  • gluten-free garden pasta salad
  • tomato basil crostinis
  • baked spinach dip with corn chips – I replaced the shredded and cream cheese with a vegan ones but used the real parmesan.
  • lots of fresh fruit with strawberry dip   
  • vegan lemon cheesecake with a lemon curd topping  (veganized of course with earth balance and no food colouring.. who needs neon yellow food..)  

 

**Click on the link to see the recipe I used!

Image

Easter brunch eats!

Plus my mom brought some super cute bunny buns which looked adorable on the table. 

Image

 

She also spoiled us with loads of chocolate and candy.. We’re pretty much stocked for the year. 

I thought I’d also share the recipes that don’t have links as I made them up! 

Gluten-Free Garden Pasta Salad

  • 2 Cups cooked gluten free rice bran pasta (I used Tinkyada brand)
  • 1 carrot peeled into ribbons
  • 1/3 cup diced cucumber
  • 1/3 cup diced red pepper
  • 1/4 cup diced purple onion or shallots
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/3 cup mayo
  • 1/3 cup vegan sour cream
  • 1 Tbs apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbs sugar or honey or whatever sweetener you prefer
  • a squeeze of lemon juice
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • dash paprika
  • a few fresh basil leaves chopped (optional I just had some on hand)
  1. Put everything in a bowl and mix well. I like to keep things simple when they can be and use the lease amount of dishes possible. 

Tomato Basil Crostinis

I discovered an amazing recipe for pizza sauce from thebrookcook and I couldn’t wait for a pizza night to try it out! Toasted herb bread topped with fresh basil leaves and vegan mozza seemed like the perfect combination to satisfy my margarita pizza obsession I spoke of before.

  • 4 Slices of a round herb loaf cut in half
  • homemade tomato sauce (canned tomatoes pureed with olive oil and salt)
  • fresh basil leaves
  • vegan mozzarella cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 400 celsius.
  2. Pop bread into oven while it’s preheating remove when the edges start to brown.
  3. Remove bread slices from oven. Top with tomato sauce, basil and mozza and return to oven until cheese is melted. About 5 mins but keep an eye on it!
  4. Serve right away while still warm.   

Strawberry Dip

I’m not even sure why I’m posting a recipe for this one, it’s so simple I really just took 1/2 cup of organic greek strawberry yogurt (delicious on it’s own) and added about 1/3 cup vegan cream cheese. Blend them together and voila!

You’re probably wondering why I used vegan cheeses for some of the recipes yet not for all.. My mom also thought this was very strange and started trying to pick out which were real and which were not. But I can explain I swear! After doing the dairy free challenge I discovered that some things were easily substituted for vegan alternatives and that cheap grocery store brand cheese is something I can really do without. Yet I still love the flavor of real cheeses. Now I get the expensive real cheese, real parmesan, real mozzarella but I buy and use less of it. By replacing most of the cheese in recipes with a vegan alternative at least I’m putting slightly less demand on the dairy industry. Some of the recipes also call for mayo which I’m still a sucker for. I’m going to buy an immersion blender and start making my own from scratch at home because even though a bottle of mayo will last me almost half a year I’d still rather make it from the eggs from my chickens then from who knows where.    

Since it was such a beautiful day out we took a trip to Sandy Beach and went exploring on the still frozen lake. A very good Easter sunday all around =) 

Image

Canadian spring lol. Even though it looks super sunny out I still layered up with tights, thermals, long sleeve shirt, sweater and vest.

Image

Hope everyone is having a fantastic Easter sunday! 

Leave a Reply

