Random things I’m liking right now.

I always love when other bloggers do favorite things or what I’m loving lately posts. I get to see new products/sites/ideas that I wouldn’t normally and it’s just fun to read the reasons why they love these things. Not really knowing what else to talk about this week I decided to do a favorite things post of my own! (Maybe it will become a regular appearance on the blog).

My list of favorite things right now is pretty random.

  • First off, this green veggie hot plate.

2013-04-13 08.53.11

Is that what it’s even called? Shadoe and I both think that’s what it’s called but the internet does not lol. Anyways, my mom and aunt found this awesome hot plate at a thrift store and put it in my Easter basket. I use it all the time. Works way better than a folded dish towel for foods I want to serve straight out of the oven or off the stove, which was my makeshift method before having a real hot plate.

  • Ginger Beer!

2013-04-13 08.53.52

Honestly I’m just loving any kind of ginger lately. I usually make ginger tea (grated ginger and boiling water) to sip on after dinner but I discovered this amazing beer at the liquor store and we just can’t get enough! It’s still alcoholic so obviously we try to limit our intake but it just tastes sooo good and refreshing!

  • Happy Herbivore Abroad cookbook.

I’ve been following her blog for some time now and finally decided I wanted to try out some of these recipes that everyone has been raving about. I was pretty skeptical of fat free/oil free vegan recipes, as I normally add earth balance or olive oil to almost everything but the first recipe I made, Taco soup, was insanely good! I honestly didn’t even miss the oil. At the beginning of the cookbook Lindsay talks about her reasons for eating a vegan, fat-free, oil-free diet. The reasons behind cutting out the oil have really stuck in my head. I never really thought too much about oil or that cooking oils are just overly processed, concentrated versions of the natural oils found in food. Since they are so concentrated they contain a ton of calories, 120 calories and 14g of fat in one tablespoon, that’s a lot of calories that could be easily left out.. So, I’ve been trying to cut oil out of everything lately, sautéing tofu in soy sauce and water, scrambled eggs with no earth balance, caramelizing onions with no oil.. It’s definitely been tricky so far, especially with having stainless steel pans instead of no-stick Teflon ones. My scrambled eggs turned out kind of rubbery, but I’ll keep working on it. Just being more conscious of added oil I think will make a difference.

  • Toffuti non-dairy sour cream and cream cheese.

I’ve finally found perfect replacements for more dairy products. I tried Tofutti cream cheese and sour cream after a couple recipes online called for them and was pleasantly surprised. I honestly could not tell the difference, which is huge because I love cream cheese and sour cream! It also has much less calories and fat per serving than the dairy stuff. Unfortunately, the processing and ingredients required to make these non-dairy products is sometimes scary and not something I’d want to eat all the time, but it’s nice to know I have great substitutes whenever I want a treat.

One thing I’m not loving today is that we woke up to a blizzard.. Really winter.. Just go away already. Yesterday was beautiful and sunny and I got to finally wear a dress with tights, sweater and flats and today it’s completely white outside and I’ll be wearing winter boots, thick pants, winter jacket, toque and mitts if I leave the house.

What are some things that you’re loving lately?

Leave a Reply

