Adventure time! Planning my first 3 day hike!

It’s been my goal for the summer to complete a multi-day hike and since the summer is almost over I figured I had better get my butt in gear and just do it. I’ve gone on an overnight hike once before and it was awesome, definitely something I’d like to do more often. We made our own trail up a mountain in the Yukon then camped out just below the summit. It’s such an amazing feeling to work so hard and then reach the top and be able to just relax and take it all in.

After reading “Wild” By Cheryl Strayed at the beginning of the summer I became hooked on the idea of doing a long distance hike but I figured I had better test out the waters by doing a 2-3 day hike first. Luckily we live pretty close to some amazing hiking territory. After looking up a few hikes and getting some recommendations we decided on the Skyline Trail in Jasper, AB. It’s a 44Km hike of which 25 kilometers are above the tree line. I’m a little nervous having only done much shorter distances in the past but I’m always up for an adventure! I’ve been reading nonstop on what to pack, how to pack and how to reduce weight in your bag. We have almost everything we need already but I’ve been debating splurging on a new lightweight sleeping bag. I’m almost always cold when we go camping so lately I’ve been using a super thick sleeping bag but it’s not something I want to drag up a mountain. Especially when I just found a warmer, more compact bag that weighs at least half the weight and would take up half the space.. Problem is I already have to purchase a sleeping pad a a few other things and I want to invest in quality gear. This is definitely where kijiji comes in handy. So far I’ve found a sleeping pad for $40 instead of $70 at the store and sleeping bags for much less than in store. Unfortunately all the sleeping bags for sale are larger than what I’m looking for so that might be one thing I need to buy new. I wish I had planned a little more in advance and spent more time looking online for used ones. There has got to be lots of second hand bags in great condition as it seems everyone just buys new everything nowadays. Just where/how to find them… Worst case scenario I just end up hauling my huge sleeping bag around for a couple days, better than being cold!  

Now to reserve our spots on the trail and spend the next week gathering supplies. Oh and try to and get as many runs in as possible. I’ve kind of been slacking in the running department since getting sick last month and a little worried my legs won’t be up to all the uphill climbing. Yet excitement is definitely overcoming the nervousness as I hope this is the start to many more hiking adventures for Shadoe and I.

10 days and counting! 

Image

Hiking in the Yukon!

Leave a Reply

